Trouble and distress have come upon me

Trouble and distress have come upon me, but your commands give me delight.

Psalm 119:143 NIV

In this world we will face trials and tribulations as Christians.  It doesn’t matter where we live in the world we will be assaulted by the arrows of the enemy.  The devices of the enemy are worry, doubt, fear, confusion, angry, lust, and many other things that come from the darkness.  But we who are in Christ have nothing to fear.  For we are covered by the blood of Jesus and we walk in the authority of our Lord and Savior.

Even though we face trials and tribulations we must draw near to the Lord each day as we are challenged and tried.  The enemy means to destroy us with every challenge we face, but the Lord uses every ounce of adversity we face as an opportunity to grow deeper in Him.  As we draw near it is the Lord who strengthens us and gives us wisdom for all things.  His strength is perfected in our weakness.

Today if you are facing trials and challenges know that you are not alone.  You have many brothers and sisters who are facing the same things and the Lord goes before us and behind us.  He lives with in our hearts and we simply need to learn to fully rely upon Him and let go of our own strength.  Many times we simply believe we can overcome things on our own, but in ourselves we will always fall short.  Press on toward the high call in Christ Jesus and know that for those who overcome a mighty crown awaits.

Father I come before you today and I ask you to give me the strength and grace to overcome all that I am facing right now.  I know that my life is in your hands and I know that you live in my heart.  I ask you to fill me to overflowing with the power and might of the Holy Spirit.  Give me eyes to see and ears to hear and a heart to understand.  I thank you Father for every trial and challenge I face because I know it is simply an opportunity to continue to grow in you.  In the mighty name of Jesus, Amen!

Leave a Reply

