For you have heard of my previous way of life in Judaism

13 For you have heard of my previous way of life in Judaism, how intensely I persecuted the church of God and tried to destroy it. 14 I was advancing in Judaism beyond many of my own age among my people and was extremely zealous for the traditions of my fathers. 15 But when God, who set me apart from my mother’s womb and called me by his grace, was pleased 16 to reveal his Son in me so that I might preach him among the Gentiles, my immediate response was not to consult any human being. 17 I did not go up to Jerusalem to see those who were apostles before I was, but I went into Arabia. Later I returned to Damascus. Galatians 1:13-17.

The apostle Paul was a man of intensity and a man of passion.  Before coming to Jesus Christ he was a man who pursued the law of God with all his heart.  His desire was to destroy the movement called Christianity because he saw it as a threat to the law and to the traditions of his people.  What he did not understand before he came to Jesus is that Jesus was actually the fulfillment of every messianic promise.

When the apostle Paul encountered Jesus Christ on the road to Damascus his life was changed for an eternity.  This was the only way the Lord was able to get his attention because he was so driven to destroy the church.  But within the man known as Saul the Lord saw a man He could use to turn the world upside down.

The apostle Paul was not special by any means, he simply was a man who was willing to pursue God with everything that was within him.  Before he came to Christ the only thing he knew to be true was the law.  So when he heard of a man who claimed to be the Son of God to him this was blasphemy.  But on the road to Damascus Paul encountered the very Son of God and after encountering the Lord Paul went to the Arabian desert for three years where the Lord revealed to him the depths of His grace.

The reason the grace of God was so incredible to the apostle Paul is because Paul understood the demands of the law.  As a pharisee before he came to Christ he would spend his life not only reading the law, but meditating upon it and mastering it.  He was a man who was full of zeal and passion and the Lord used his heart to turn the world upside down.

Today the Lord simply seeks those who would seek Him with their whole hearts.  He seeks those who would seek first His kingdom and His righteousness.  The Lord desires to display His glory upon the earth and He desires to do this through the lives of human beings.  Never see yourself as insignificant because you could be the next apostle Paul who is used to turn the world upside down for Jesus.

 

Leave a Reply

