Psalm 42: As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God

As the deer pants for streams of water,
    so my soul pants for you, my God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
    When can I go and meet with God?
My tears have been my food
    day and night,
while people say to me all day long,
    “Where is your God?”
These things I remember
    as I pour out my soul:
how I used to go to the house of God
    under the protection of the Mighty One[d]
with shouts of joy and praise
    among the festive throng.

Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Savior and my God.

My soul is downcast within me;
    therefore I will remember you
from the land of the Jordan,
    the heights of Hermon—from Mount Mizar.
Deep calls to deep
    in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers
    have swept over me.

By day the Lord directs his love,
    at night his song is with me—
    a prayer to the God of my life.

I say to God my Rock,
    “Why have you forgotten me?
Why must I go about mourning,
    oppressed by the enemy?”
10 My bones suffer mortal agony
    as my foes taunt me,
saying to me all day long,
    “Where is your God?”

11 Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Savior and my God.  Psalm 42

There are times in our lives when it seems as if God has forgotten us.  We are overwhelmed by the challenges and trials we face and when we cry out to God it seems as if we feel nothing.  It seems as if the heavens are as brass.  But these are simply feelings and they are not the truth.

What I love about the Psalms is that they are raw and show the true emotions and struggles someone faces as they walk with the Lord.  There are mountain tops and there are valleys and it is in the valleys where our greatest growth takes place.  It is in the valleys that we learn to let go of trusting in our feelings and emotions and we stand and trust in God’s word.

God’s word is unchanging and He is faithful to every promise that He has established for our lives.  This is why it is so important to become a disciplined student of God’s word.  When we daily spend time in God’s word and meditate upon His word, our hearts and minds are set upon the things above.  But when we fail to spend time daily in God’s word our minds and hearts instead get focused on the circumstances that surround us.

God’s word will protect and guard our minds from the lies and deceptions of the enemy.  It says in God’s word that Satan comes as an angel of light to deceive.  One of Satan’s greatest deceptions is that he tries to deceive people into thinking that he is the voice of God.  But he is the father of lies and that is why every word he speaks is based upon lie and deception.  When we diligently study God’s word and know His word we will discern the lies of the enemy when they are spoke into our minds and our ears.

So today if you find yourself in the valley know that you have not been forgotten.  Know that the Lord is walking with you and He is carrying you.  He is using all things in your life to mature you and refine you.  You are called to be a vessel for His glory and the process to get there can be a painful one.  But as you draw near to the Lord with all your heart, He will strengthen you and His grace is sufficient for all things.

Leave a Reply

