Psalm 116: I love the Lord because He hears my voice

I love the Lord because he hears my voice
    and my prayer for mercy.
Because he bends down to listen,
    I will pray as long as I have breath!
Death wrapped its ropes around me;
    the terrors of the grave[a] overtook me.
    I saw only trouble and sorrow.
Then I called on the name of the Lord:
    “Please, Lord, save me!”
How kind the Lord is! How good he is!
    So merciful, this God of ours!
The Lord protects those of childlike faith;
    I was facing death, and he saved me.
Let my soul be at rest again,
    for the Lord has been good to me.
He has saved me from death,
    my eyes from tears,
    my feet from stumbling.
And so I walk in the Lord’s presence
    as I live here on earth!
10 I believed in you, so I said,
    “I am deeply troubled, Lord.”
11 In my anxiety I cried out to you,
    “These people are all liars!”
12 What can I offer the Lord
    for all he has done for me?
13 I will lift up the cup of salvation
    and praise the Lord’s name for saving me.
14 I will keep my promises to the Lord
    in the presence of all his people.

15 The Lord cares deeply
    when his loved ones die.
16 O Lord, I am your servant;
    yes, I am your servant, born into your household;
    you have freed me from my chains.
17 I will offer you a sacrifice of thanksgiving
    and call on the name of the Lord.
18 I will fulfill my vows to the Lord
    in the presence of all his people—
19 in the house of the Lord
    in the heart of Jerusalem.

Praise the Lord!  Psalm 116

When we stop and truly meditate upon the fact that God hears us when we pray it is an awesome revelation.  There have been times in my life when it has felt that my prayers went no farther than the ceiling in my room.  It felt as if I was simply speaking to myself.  But I learned not to rely upon my feelings.  I simply have to trust the Lord at His word and when He tells me that He hears me, then I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that He hears me.

We live in very difficult times and the days before us are getting ever more difficult.  It is so important as the body of Christ that we become a house of prayer.  Each and everyone of us have a responsibility to be a person of prayer as the Holy Spirit leads us.  As we grow in the place of prayer and show ourselves to be faithful, the Holy Spirit will reveal more things to our heart to pray for.  He will place burdens upon us that He desires we bring before the Father in prayer.  This is how He leads us in the place of prayer.

Never minimize the prayers you pray.  Many times we will see ourselves as insignificant because that is how the enemy works.  But the truth is that our prayers that are prayed through the leading of the Holy Spirit are more powerful than we even understand.  When we pray according to the will of our Father in Heaven and we pray in the mighty name of Jesus, there is nothing that can stand before the power of God being poured out and His will being accomplished.  I encourage you to persevere in the place of prayer because there is much that is being accomplished and much more our Father desires to do in the earth.  When we as a people become a house of prayer we shall see His glory and power poured out in our midst.

Leave a Reply

