Psalm 86:1-7: Incline your ear, O Lord, and answer me

Incline your ear, O Lord, and answer me,
    for I am poor and needy.
Preserve my life, for I am godly;
    save your servant, who trusts in you—you are my God.
Be gracious to me, O Lord,
    for to you do I cry all the day.
Gladden the soul of your servant,
    for to you, O Lord, do I lift up my soul.
For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving,
    abounding in steadfast love to all who call upon you.
Give ear, O Lord, to my prayer;
    listen to my plea for grace.
In the day of my trouble I call upon you,
    for you answer me.  Psalm 86:1-7

David was a man after God’s own heart and he understood the importance and power of prayer.  He understood it was God alone who sustain him and it was the Lord alone where David found the victory.  David was a man of humility and he knew that he was in desperate need of God’s help.  In this psalm as he cries out to the Lord in prayer he refers to himself as poor and needy.

David’s trust was in the Lord and he cried out to the Lord for protection and safety.  David knew that it was only through the Lord that he would be preserved.  David was a man of victory because he was a man of prayer.  For when we cry out to our Father in Heaven He hears us and He is moved at the prayers of His sons and daughters.  We are never forgotten and we are never forsaken.

God is full of grace and mercy for us.  For when we cry out to Him His grace and mercy is lavished upon us.  There is no shortage of His grace and mercy.  It is the Lord alone who brings us joy.  The joy of the Lord is our strength.  It is not like the joy of the world that is based on circumstance and is fickle and shallow.  The joy of the Lord is our joy in knowing Him personally and walking with Him in every and all circumstances.

The Lord is good and forgiving.  His love is steadfast and eternal.  Though we may fail a thousand times, His love never will.  His ear is never deaf to our cry.  He knows every hair on the top of our heads.  He knows the very smallest details of our lives and knows us better than we know ourselves.

In this world we will face trial and tribulation, but in our most difficult moments we simply need to cry out to the Lord.  But we can’t simply wait until we are pressed on every side to cry out to the Lord.  We must seek Him at all times.  As we seek Him, our lives are transformed.  It is a journey of one step at a time and it is a journey in which God is continually teaching us to trust Him at His word.  His word is true and He will always meet every need.

2 thoughts on “Psalm 86:1-7: Incline your ear, O Lord, and answer me

  1. I feel sometimes we are pressed on all sides so we HAVE to call on Him. It shouldn’t be so. We should be talking, praising, and sharing God all day everyday. Not that I am the perfect example, the Good LORD knows I am not but He loves me.

    1. Our walk is definitely easier if we walk in continual fellowship with the Lord. But sadly human nature is we become complacent and disconnected when things become comfortable. There is a purpose in all things.

Leave a comment